Canada News

Who Wayne Gretzky voted for on the 2022 NHL Awards ballot

Wayne Gretzky is undisputedly the best hockey participant of all time, with 9 Hart Trophy wins, numerous data to his title, and 4 Stanley Cup rings on his fingers.

However what occurs when The Nice One will get an opportunity to vote on the NHL Awards? Due to Gretzky’s work with TNT, we now know that reply.

Gretzky’s awards poll, together with the practically 200 different ballots submitted by the Skilled Hockey Writers Affiliation, had been made public Wednesday — in the future after Auston Matthews took dwelling the Hart Trophy as league MVP.

Right here is who Gretzky selected for hockey’s best particular person honors.

Hart Trophy

Gretzky’s poll: Connor McDavid, Auston Matthews, Jonathan Huberdeau, Cale Makar, Leon Draisaitl

The winner: Auston Matthews

Gretzky’s vote will do little to quell the talk over who the best energetic participant is. McDavid continued to dominate the league this season, successful his fourth Artwork Ross in his seventh season however Matthews took the crown after turning into the league’s first 60-goal man in a decade. No matter which facet of the talk you are on, followers throughout hockey can look ahead to each of those stars persevering with to wow us for years to come back.

Norris Trophy

Gretzky’s poll: Cale Makar, Roman Josi, Adam Fox, Victor Hedman, Morgan Rielly

The winner: Cale Makar

This was the closest race of the yr, with Josi really receiving extra first-place votes than Makar. However Makar benefited from a wider margin of second-place votes and took dwelling what needs to be the primary of many Norris trophies.

Calder Trophy

Gretzky’s poll: Moritz Seider, Trevor Zegras, Michael Bunting, Lucas Raymond, Jeremy Swayman

The winner: Moritz Seider

Zegras turned heads this season with some unimaginable viral moments, however Gretzky — like most voters — was impressed by Seider’s mature play on the blue line. Seider stepped into the Pink Wings lineup and immediately grew to become their finest defenseman, scoring 50 factors and making his presence felt with some large hits. He could possibly be on some Norris ballots within the close to future.

Selke Trophy

Gretzky’s poll: Anze Kopitar, Elias Lindholm, Patrice Bergeron, Aleksander Barkov, Ryan O’Reilly

The winner: Patrice Bergeron

The NHL is filled with gifted two-way gamers however Bergeron has been the mannequin everybody else has adopted for many of his Corridor of Fame profession. With the win, Bergeron broke Bob Gainey’s file by successful the award for the fifth time. Kopitar, Gretzky’s decide, received it in 2018.

Woman Byng Trophy

Gretzky’s poll: Johnny Gaudreau, Mitch Marner, Nikita Kucherov, Patrick Kane, Kirill Kaprizov

The winner: Kyle Connor

Being a gentleman of the sport is a troublesome factor to evaluate, so it is attention-grabbing that not one of the three finalists had been on Gretzky’s poll. Connor received the award after scoring 97 factors and solely recording 4 penalty minutes this season. Defensemen Jaccob Slavin — final yr’s winner — and Jared Spurgeon had been the opposite finalists.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button